« Back to overview

Turkey: E-Visa requirement as from 10 April 2014

14. February 2014

As from 10 April 2014, it will no longer be possible for passengers to buy/obtain a visa upon arrival at entry points in Turkey. Instead, passengers should obtain an e-visa (on-line) in advance of their travel.

In accordance with the new Law on Foreigners, the practice of obtaining visas upon arrival to points of entry to Turkey will begin to come to an end as of 11 April 2014. However, border authorities will maintain existing procedures for a certain transitional period, to include the 2014 tourism season.
Visas for touristic or business purposes can be obtained via the new Electronic Visa Application System ( www.evisa.gov.tr). This system, which was launched in 2013, allows intending visitors to obtain their e-Visas in approximately three minutes online.
The Ministry of Foreign Affairs continues efforts to strengthen the e-Visa system and to better enable foreign nationals to easily obtain their visas.

The citizens of the following EU countries (on condition that they hold an ordinary passport) are required to obtain an e-visa, irrespective of the length of their stay: Austria, Belgium, Croatia, “Greek Cypriot Administration” (quote from the Turkish authorities), Ireland, Netherlands, Spain, UK.

An e-visa is also required by citizens of the following countries, if their stay in Turkey is longer than 3 months: Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary (30 days), Italy, Latvia (30 days), Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden (conditions may apply).

This means that the new e-visa requirement will be critical for passport holders from Austria, Belgium, Croatia, “Greek Cypriot Administration” (quoted), Ireland, Netherlands, Spain and UK, as they need in all cases a visa, but can no longer buy it at the border as from April.

The e-visa can be obtained online from the following link:  https://www.evisa.gov.tr/en/

More information is available on the website of the Turkish Ministry of Foreign Affairs: http://www.mfa.gov.tr/visa-information-for-foreigners.en.mfa

« Back to overview